Home > Twitter > More on Bragging

More on Bragging

Thanks for the great comments! I started to write a reply comment, but it grew into more of a post:

Of course “no bragging, no whining” is overstating for simplicity.  A fairer statement would be “think carefully before saying something that might be perceived as bragging or whining.”

I do think sharing successes is a good thing…. But when possible, it’s nicer when someone else does it for you. So for example I tweeted about what an awesome keynote Fernanda Viegas and Martin Wattenberg gave at WikiSym (and I meant it–they rule!) I’d rather it be that way than F & M tweeting about it themselves. (Which they didn’t, for the record.)

I started following Neil Gaiman @neilhimself on Twitter coincidentally just before he won the Newbury Award. His first genuine excitement at winning made my day–it was wonderful, even if he was telling us all about it himself. But in the weeks following, he had a surge of fame and constant high-profile interviews, and his lack of any humility about it soured the whole thing rapidly. Unfollowing him felt like getting a grain of sand out of my eye. I don’t know if it’s safe to refollow these days… I haven’t dared to look.  OK, I completely forgive him for getting a bit full on himself immediately after a major life accomplishment. But you see the broader point–bragging is delicate business.

Categories: Twitter
  1. January 31, 2010 at 3:37 am

    I think you nailed it by refining No Boasting to be No Boasting Without Humility. It’s really about showing the markers of your success in a way that shows you know that other people have equally or more impressive markers of their own.

  2. beki70
    January 31, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    I like this… I am curious though, both you and Nancy probably have things to say about the connection between finding the right balance and the rest blog post by Shirky about the difference between men and women….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

