Home > Uncategorized > How much time are you spending on your smartphone?

How much time are you spending on your smartphone?

“What time is it?  That clock has got to be wrong.”  I was early getting to the office this morning.  And yesterday too.  Twenty minutes to half an hour earlier that I expected.  It’s been happening a lot lately.  Actually, every day since I quit playing Words With Friends.

I knew playing that game was distracting.  But I didn’t realize just how much time it was taking up.  Here’s how it added up:  In the morning, I used to look at WWF over breakfast (instead of reading the paper, no time lost).  Then I drop the kids off at school. I’m not quite done making my moves over breakfast, so in the car in the school parking lot, I look at it quickly.  Drive to the gym.   In the parking lot before going into the gym, look at it quickly, responding to a move a friend made in our game while I was driving.  Swim. Shower.  In the locker room before driving to the office, look at it quickly.  Each of those quick looks must have been five to seven minutes long, so three of them adds up to 15 to 20 minutes.  Now add a traffic penalty–leaving just a few minutes later can add five to ten minutes to my drive time.  And voila!  20 to 30 minutes wasted total.  I had no idea.

Some of the seemingly ‘instant’ things we do are not so instant.  And they add up!  It’s  hard to understand the over all impact of lots of little things–until you remove a stack of them all at once, and find yourself at your desk mysteriously early.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 18, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    I’ve often thought that if there was an app to record how much time per day you spent on all the other apps on your phone that it would be illuminating. How much time do I spend on facebook? Email? Twitter?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

