Home > Uncategorized > Social and Observational Learning: The Clean Toothbrush

Social and Observational Learning: The Clean Toothbrush

I went to wash my hands the other day, and saw that my husband, Pete, had left something soaking in the sink. OK, I’ll use another sink…. But wait! What is that soaking? It was the charger for his electric toothbrush (unplugged, of course). You know how those get kinda gross, covered in white gunk? I try to clean mine now and then–usually with a bleach wipe. It helps, but it never gets it really clean. Later that day, I saw Pete’s toothbrush and charger positively gleaming. Wow! It wouldn’t have occurred to me to soak something electrical, but I guess you can do it. I was inspired, and soaked mine. It worked like a charm.

Let’s look at this as an episode of learning. Pete and I haven’t exchanged a word about the toothbrush–this post will come as a surprise to him. But through observation, I both developed motivation to do something positive, and learned a new method for approaching it!

Of course you know this post isn’t about toothbrushes. My question is: In what ways do students in face-to-face classes have opportunities for this kind of learning? I don’t take it for granted that this happens a lot–I think sometimes we romanticize the traditional classroom. I’m always surprised at the end of the term when I’m teaching a small class and know everyone’s names, and realize they don’t know one another’s names. They often just know the name of one or two classmates. Though sometimes the support from those one or two friends is critical.

If we could understand more about social and observational learning in the traditional classroom, then we could try to recreate the positive aspects in the online classroom. Or better yet, to go beyond being there (thank you, Jim Hollan), and invent even better mechanisms. This is what my PhD student Joe Gonzales and I are trying to do.

How would you approach it? Leave me a comment, and tell me about your cool work!

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Jay Summet
    December 17, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    I’m going to be trying out Team Based Learning next semester. The idea is that students learn as a team, helping each other.

    The primary book I’m using to get started:
    http://www.amazon.com/Getting-Started-Team-Based-Learning-Sibley/dp/1620361965/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1418840740&sr=8-2&keywords=team+based+learning

  2. December 17, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    Interesting. Thanks for the comment, Jay. I ordered the book. Going to check it out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

